Design

Canva Pro Pricing, Features and Free Plan Comparison

Canva Free provides an ongoing entry-level plan, while Pro costs $144 per person annually in the United States. Compare the plans, understand the billing basis and decide whether premium workflow capabilities justify upgrading.

canva pro

Canva Pro is Canva’s paid individual plan, priced at $144 per person per year in the United States when billed annually. Canva Free remains an ongoing no-cost option with 5GB of cloud storage, one Brand Kit and limited AI usage. Pro is most relevant when premium assets or paid workflow capabilities are important to recurring work, but occasional creators may find the free plan sufficient. Monthly billing and a free trial are available, although their rates and terms are not specified here.

Canva Pro and Canva Free at a glance

Canva Free is a real ongoing plan, not merely a temporary Canva free trial. It gives one person access to Canva’s template-led design environment for creating content such as presentations, social graphics, documents, videos, websites, whiteboards, photo projects and PDFs.

CriterionCanva FreeCanva Pro
US price$0 for one person$144 per person per year
BillingNo subscription chargeBilled annually at the stated price; monthly billing is also available, but its rate is not specified
Cloud storage5GBPaid-plan storage amount is not specified here
Brand toolsOne Brand KitBrand capabilities depend on the selected plan
AI usageLimited usageAllowances vary by tier, are shared across Canva tools and remain subject to fair-use limits
Premium capabilitiesSome assets and workflow capabilities are plan-dependentThe paid option for users who require eligible premium assets and workflow features

Both plans use Canva’s web-based workspace and accessible drag-and-drop editing model. The practical difference is not whether basic visual creation is possible; it is whether your regular projects require paid content, higher allowances or workflow capabilities unavailable under your Free entitlement.

How much Canva Pro costs

Canva Pro pricing for the United States was verified on September 23, 2026. The supported annual Canva Pro cost is $144 per person, billed annually. Applicable tax is excluded, and US sales tax may depend on the billing address.

Dividing $144 by 12 gives a $12 monthly equivalent. This is only a way to understand the annual cost; it does not turn the plan into a $12 month-to-month subscription. The full billing basis is annual.

Monthly billing is available, but the monthly amount was not displayed with the annual pricing. Consequently, someone asking how much is Canva Pro on a monthly subscription should check the amount presented for their account before purchasing. Location can also affect currency, tax and the applicable Canva pricing.

The stated price is per person. For example, two separate Pro seats at the same compatible annual rate would produce a derived subtotal of $288 per year before tax. This simple multiplication should not be treated as a quote for a team arrangement or another Canva plan.

What you get with Pro versus Free

Canva Free offers a practical starting point for individual design work. Its 5GB of storage can hold cloud-based projects, while one Brand Kit provides a basic place for reusable brand material. Limited AI usage also lets eligible users explore AI-assisted work without assuming unrestricted access.

Canva’s wider toolset includes editable templates, stock photos, video, graphics and audio. It also covers AI-assisted functions such as Magic Write, Magic Resize, translation, background removal, Magic Layers and Canva AI. Availability and usage depend on the plan, however, so the presence of a tool on the platform does not establish unlimited Pro access.

Canva’s summarized plan information does not itemize every Pro entitlement or provide exact Pro storage and AI quotas. It would therefore be inaccurate to promise that every named asset, AI tool or export option is included without restriction. Instead, evaluate the upgrade around the paid capability your work actually requires.

Premium assets and recurring production

Premium content matters when a specific template, photograph, graphic, video clip or audio asset is integral to a deliverable. A creator who regularly encounters paid assets may obtain more value from Pro than someone who can consistently complete projects with free material or original uploads.

Brand consistency

Free includes one Brand Kit. Paid brand controls become more relevant when recurring campaigns depend on reusable colors, typography, logos and templates. These tools can reduce repetitive setup, but they do not replace decisions about which elements are approved or who may alter a template.

AI-assisted editing

AI tools can help with writing, resizing, translation, background removal and other creation tasks. Their allowances vary by tier, draw from shared usage across Canva tools and are subject to fair-use limits. If one particular AI function drives your decision, confirm its displayed allowance rather than assuming that a Pro subscription means unlimited use.

Collaboration and specialist work

Canva supports collaboration, feedback and approvals where the plan permits them. These functions can keep discussion associated with a design, although exact organizational entitlements are plan-dependent. Canva’s broad, template-led workflow also may not replace specialist software for advanced vector construction, detailed photo manipulation, complex video post-production or precise print-production controls.

Is Canva Pro worth paying for

Stay with Canva Free if you create occasional basic designs, can work within 5GB of storage, need only one Brand Kit and do not regularly depend on premium assets or larger AI allowances. It provides a low-risk way to establish whether Canva’s editor suits your workflow.

Consider Pro when paid assets or plan-gated capabilities are recurring requirements rather than occasional conveniences. It can also be easier to justify when Canva supports several parts of your process, such as preparing social graphics, presentations and short videos in the same workspace.

Here is an illustrative decision rule for a solo creator producing one campaign each month. Allocating the $144 annual subscription across 12 campaigns gives a pre-tax software cost of $12 per campaign. The creator could compare that figure with the value of the premium assets and eligible workflow tools required for each campaign. This does not claim $12 in savings; it simply establishes the minimum cost allocation that the work must justify.

Before upgrading, open two or three representative Free projects and list the precise obstacles you encounter. If the same paid asset category, brand function or editing tool blocks several projects, Pro has a clearer business case. If the projects can be completed comfortably without those capabilities, remain on Free until the requirement becomes recurring.

Canva free trials and subscription cancellation

A Canva Pro free trial is available, but its duration, eligibility requirements and renewal conditions are not specified in the plan details summarized here. The offer shown to an account should identify the end date and any charge that follows. Read those terms before starting and keep a record of the date if you do not intend to continue.

To cancel a Canva subscription, use the account that owns the paid plan rather than an account that merely collaborates on a design. Open that account’s billing or subscription management controls, select the Canva subscription and begin cancellation. Exact interface labels are not specified here, so follow the account-specific cancellation flow rather than relying on an assumed menu name.

  1. Sign in with the account responsible for the subscription.
  2. Open its billing or subscription management area and identify the Pro plan.
  3. Start cancellation and read the effective date before confirming.
  4. Complete every confirmation stage and retain the final confirmation or email.
  5. Export essential deliverables before the stated access end date if they depend on paid assets or tools.

Do not assume that closing a browser, removing an application or ceasing to use Canva cancels billing. A completed cancellation should produce a clear confirmation. The available terms do not specify exactly how long Pro access continues or how premium elements behave afterward, so the effective date and conditions shown during cancellation should guide your next step.

Explore more technology guides on Techistuff.

Frequently Asked Questions About Canva Pro pricing and plans

Is Canva free to use?

Yes. Canva Free is an ongoing plan for one person rather than a time-limited trial. It includes 5GB of cloud storage, one Brand Kit and limited AI usage. Premium assets and some workflow capabilities depend on the selected plan.

How much is Canva Pro in the United States?

The verified US annual price is $144 per person, excluding applicable tax. That equals a derived monthly equivalent of $12, but it is billed annually. Monthly billing is available, although the monthly rate was not specified in the pricing information used here.

Is there a Canva Pro free trial?

Yes, Canva lists a free trial for Canva Pro. The available plan details do not specify its duration, eligibility rules or renewal conditions, so review the offer shown for your account before starting it.

Can I cancel a Canva subscription?

Yes, cancellation is supported. Sign in with the account that owns the subscription, open its billing or subscription controls and begin the cancellation process. Review the effective date and retain the final confirmation because exact labels and access timing can vary.

What happens to Pro designs after cancellation?

The precise treatment of existing designs, premium assets and paid tools after cancellation is not specified here. Before access ends, export essential deliverables in the formats you need and review the cancellation confirmation for the effective date and any account-specific restrictions.

Keep reading

Related research

Design

How to Find and Use Miro Templates

Choose a Miro template by outcome, turn it into an editable board, adapt the structure to your session, and verify access, instructions,…

6 min read

Design

Miro Pricing Explained for Free and Paid Plans

Miro has an ongoing free option and paid subscriptions starting at an $8 per-member monthly equivalent billed annually. Compare board limits, billing…

6 min read

Design

Procreate Tutorial for Beginners on iPad

Learn a straightforward first-project workflow in Procreate for iPad, from choosing a canvas and drawing on separate layers to adjusting a detail,…

6 min read

Stay current

New platform research, twice a month.

Pricing changes, new platform profiles and the comparisons worth reading. No sponsored placements.

Unsubscribe any time. We never sell reader data.

Find your starting point

Not sure which platform fits?

Start with the platform library, or browse every Techistuff article across guides, comparisons, pricing and how-to content.

Platform facts and editorial content are reviewed as products change.